pls give me a band score for Task 1 -voluntary work

Post your Task 1 or 2 response and/or read the responses of other students and provide feedback.
rairaichan0323

pls give me a band score for Task 1 -voluntary work

Post by rairaichan0323 »

You live in an English speaking country and you want to do some voluntary, unpaid work in a developing country. Write a letter to a company called Cultural Expeditions, which organizes such trips. In your letter:
• Explain why you want to do the voluntary work.
• State what your skills and experience are.
• Indicate where you would like to volunteer and for how long

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am writing to seek for a voluntary work at your company.

I am a university student at Edith Crown University. I would like to assist some children who are in a less affluent country and also are in needs of someone helping. I hope that my helping can comfort their feeling and let them know that they are not outcast.

I am currently studying child educational programme. Last year summer, I had been China for teaching local children in English. I gained a great deal of experience in it. Therefore, I firmly believe that I have enough skills for teaching children.

I would be available to commence this work from 1st of July until 31st of August. I would be grateful if it is possible for you to arrange me to work in South Africa. It is because I saw some news that they are requiring some volunteer to educate their kids. I am looking forward to hearing from you.

Yours faithfully,

Janis Lam
allen_zhang

Re: pls give me a band score for Task 1 -voluntary work

Post by allen_zhang »

Hi Rairaichan,
I will try to help. Since I am also an Ielts student, I cannot guarantee that all my comments and advice are correct.
I am writing to seek for a voluntary work at your company.
Seems grammatically correct to me. However, I would try it as below:
I am writing with regard to a voluntary work program that your company is organizing.