ILETS - AUS - Task 1 - General Training Question - 17/08/13

Have you taken the IELTS recently? Share your questions with other students here.
fulecha

ILETS - AUS - Task 1 - General Training Question - 17/08/13

Post by fulecha »

Hi All,
Please be advised that the following letter appeared on the ILETS test in Australia on 17/08/13.

Write a letter to your landlord as the neighbour above you makes a lot of noise:
Explain the problem.
What have you done to resolve the issue
What do you want him to do?

Of course it is paraphrased but the gist is present.
cognos

Re: ILETS - AUS - Task 1 - General Training Question - 17/08

Post by cognos »

Can anyone of you please provide me with the feedback for general training task 1?

Dear Mr.Smith,

I am Ms.Leena, your tenant, staying in the first floor of St.Parks Blvrd. I am writing to you to inform the problems creating by the neighbour staying above the house.

I have been staying in the first floor with my family for the past four years. I have never faced any issues till now. We are very happy residing here. Actually we are very comfortable with the area too.

Recently the top floor was occupied by a bachelor. He is creating lot of problems. We are not able to tolerate any more. Especially, at the weekends he makes a whole lot of noise during night time by dancing and by enjoying with his friends. Because of that we are not getting enough sleep. As you know, this is the annual exam time for students, my daughter is not able to concentrate much on her studies due to huge noise.

Yesterday, I met him and explained him the situation and asked him not to make noise any more. He nodded his head but didn't respond in an expected manner.

I would like to request you to kindly look into the issue and talk to him. It would be greatful, if he accepts this and allows us to have sufficient sleep.

Looking forward for a positive response from you.

Yours Sincerely,
Leena Karmer