How to acheive 8.5 BAND in just 7 days prep at first attempt

Did you achieve the mark you need? Motivate others by sharing your story.
siddharthmohan

How to acheive 8.5 BAND in just 7 days prep at first attempt

Post by siddharthmohan »

Hi All,

First of all, let me congratulate Ryan on designing a coherent platform for IELTS preparation.
Ryan's YouTube channel is undoubtedly, the best platform available for IELTS preparation.
I have been struggling in my IELTS prep for quite some time, and I finally achived my dream score following your tips and techniques.
I gave my IELTS exam (General) on 02-Oct-2014, and scored an overall BAND score of 8.5 in my first attempt.

Allow me to share a bit of my background information:
a) I (Siddharth Mohan) am a non-native speaker from INDIA. My first language is HINDI.
b) I am 29 years old and I have never travelled to any international destination.
c) I am a software engineer and hold a Bachelors of Technology degree (B.Tech) in Computer Sciences.

I have been eyeing for a IELTS training platform, as I believed for such a specialized exam, one needs to follow a different approach rather than just conforming to conventional study techniques (reading from Books, etc.).
One day just browsing through internet, I stumbled upon Ryan's YouTube channel.
I saw a couple of your videos, and I must say I was hooked.

I watched all videos (almost all) in 6 consecutive days (24*7), not recommended though but it worked for me. ;)
I kept making my own notes and came up with a ready reckoner sheet to touch upon all my weak areas.
When I got bored, I watched to IELTS high scorers interviews and I kept saying to myself, “It’s Possible”.
I owe this confidence to Ryan. Since,he presented the complete course in such a structured manner.

Each tip shared, no matter how trivial, was objectively aimed at maximizing one’s IELTS score (such as listening to BBC radio, audio books, etc)
These tips facilitated me in a holistic preparation for IELTS.